The Omicron Matter – A Practice Voyage – Into Orbit 3


A new entry in the Omicron Matter – A Practice Voyage. Findley Brown has been taken off the bridge by John Smith. Alfred Redman has taken his place to complete the preflight check list regardless of his skills or knowledge.  When the checklist is finished, Smith has still not returned leading to speculation about what Smith might be doing.

For those who are new to the Omicron Matter, the book home page is a good place to start.

Author’s note

This is the next section on the scene on Camille’s Bridge. Alfred and Winifred are starting to question each other’s motives.  I am currently working on a short story request. One of my loyal readers want’s to know more about Edward Wayland.  He showed up in an early chapter and he has small references in later chapters. I am still deciding what I will do with him.

Thanks for your support. Look for more on Friday.

Camille’s Bridge

Alfred sat at the console and sighed. Then began, “Fuel and Reserve tanks?”

Neville stuttered for a bit saying, “B..b.b. oth are filled.”

Alfred touched the line and it turned green and he continued down the list. It took a while and Alfred did not comprehend near half the items on the list.  He was certain he would not know a problem if Neville or Winifred had told him there was one.  After 30 minutes, the list was finished and Smith had still not returned. He looked up and said, “Camille. We’ve completed the bloody checklist.”

Camille responded in a smooth tone, “I will inform Mr. Smith. He and Mr. Brown are still engaged in… intense discussions.”  Winifred giggled.

Alfred glared at her and said, “Remember what I said about crossing Smith?”

Winifred held her hand to her mouth trying to suppress another chuckle and said, “Of course Alfred. You’ve said it so many times I am not sure I could forget if I wanted.”  She waved her hand at the door and chuckled so more, “It was such a stupid act.” She straightened herself a bit and said, “I daresay you’ve never seen me make such a foolish mistake. So utterly avoidable.”

Neville shivered, “I…I can’t understand why it’s taking so long.  Smith should have just locked him up if he was that upset.”

Alfred glanced at Neville in a soft manner, “Really Neville? Is your memory that short?…Or is thinking about why it is taking so long that disturbing?” Alfred leaned back and said, “You’re the only one here who really knows what Findley is going through.” Neville paled and started shaking. Alfred waved him off and said, “Go freshen up or something.  Take some time in your quarters. I’ll explain to Smith when he comes back.” Neville scurried off.

Winifred sat in her own chair and tapped a beat out on the console with her metal hand and said, “I don’t know whether to thank Findley or smack him some more afterwards. He’s drawn all the attention. I find him useful at times, but now Smith will have him on a short leash. Blasted annoying right now.”

Alfred narrowed his eyes and asked, “Thank him? Why?”

“Smith has been expecting a rebellion.  Findley gave him a small one.  An example is being made.”  There was just a hint of emphasis on the word “small”.  She turned back to her console, “Better Findley than me, andI see no reason to repeat his mistake.”

Alfred shook his head and closed his eyes.

Let me know what you think