A Quiet Fight – Make a plan


Making a plan

Upstairs, Stephan made another cappuccino sat himself by the window. He was joined by Kimberly, Stephanie and Athena who was in their charge. Stephanie asked quickly, “Is Wynn ok?”
Stephan sipped his cappuccino, “The boy has more lives than a cat. Four society puffs couldn’t scratch him. They are in the infirmary.” He set his drink down and stared out the window.
Stephanie fiddled with her napkin. Kimberly said calmly, “They will just send more people the next time.”
Stephan pursed his lips, “Everybody knows that.”
Stephanie snapped, “So we have to get him out.”
Stephan took a sip of his cappuccino, eyed Athena and smiled lightly, “No one…” He looked at Athena more intently and put a finger to his lips, “No one says anything.” Athena pulled a finger across her lips and turned and nodded solely.
Stephanie put her head in her hands and whined, “But the judge said no.”
Stephan looked at his morose daughter. He sighed and rubbed her back, “It’s all right, Steffy. We’ll get him out. And he’s a good lad. He’ll take proper care of you.”
Stephanie popped up and blushed. Kimberly and Athena giggled. She whispered, “Is it that obvious?”
Stephan pulled her closer and rubbed her hair, “It took me awhile, but men can be dense.” He gave her a little kiss on the head, “And Wynn might be a bit blind himself. Remember Jason and Candace? You better tell him when he gets out, or he will be haring off to some other risky adventure without you.” He let her go and took another sip of his cappuccino. “So we will be getting him out. I’ll not have my daughter pining her life away for some poor borne Irish pirate stuck in prison.” He winked at Kimberly, “So we’ll have to get the sod out of prison.”

DC Monroe came out of the kitchen frowning. She stopped at Stephan’s table, “Aunt Abigail and I have reached an understanding and exchanged information. “ She paused, “It will be some time before we can meet again.” She put her hands behind her back and looked at the table, “As long as I am an officer of the law, I have to enforce the law as I know it. For what it’s worth, I understand and I am sympathetic to your motives. I don’t wish the young man ill.”
Stephan sighed, “I suppose I am thankful for that detective. We may not be doing the lawful thing. But we are trying to help protect her Majesty and Britannia.”
Monroe quirked her mouth, “I’ll wager a weeks salary the other side is saying the same thing to Master Wayland.”
Stephan smiled thinly, “Our body count is much smaller and I really have no interest in ruling things.”
Monroe’s eyebrow went up, “Your body count?” She closed her eyes and waved the comment away, “I am sure I do not want to know. Good day Mister Miller, ladies. Aunt Abigail will pass on my information.” She left the cafe, put on her cap and hailed a cabby.
Abigail appeared after the detective had left. “She was helpful as she could be.”
Athena said, “So we won’t see her anymore?”
Abigail held her daughter, “Not for awhile dear. Not for awhile.”

Author’s Note

Candace is Kimberly’s twin sister. Candace and Jason had been flirting for weeks but Jason did not take it seriously until he was about to leave on a trip to the galaxy. Fortunately he had some weeks to make up for his lack of understanding.  Wynn may or may not suffer from Jason’s ignorance. He has a checkered past so he may think having ties avoids complicated discussions.

Between holidays and jury duty I have been remiss. I hope to add some new entries over the next few days.

 

One thought on “A Quiet Fight – Make a plan

  1. I have been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts on this sort of house . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this site. Reading this info So i am satisfied to show that I have an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I so much undoubtedly will make sure to do not put out of your mind this website and provides it a look regularly.
    http://www.educationguide.eu

    Like

Let me know what you think

