The Omicron Matter – Goodbyes – The Farmhouse in Dunstable 1


A new entry in The Omicron Matter – Goodbyes. Jason and Candace head to his aunt and uncle’s farm. This is the goodbye Millicent said needed most to be made. And this is the one he is the least sure about.

For those who are new to the Omicron Matter, the book home page is a good place to start.

Author’s note

Jason did not leave the farm on a good note. He had decent relations with his uncle, but his aunt was another matter. He left after a very bad argument (see “Jason Starts a Project”). But the reception he receives here is vastly different that Findley’s final night.

I should be home shortly. The posts are scheduled but I have more material ready to go after this chapter is finished and I am certain I have finished even more while I was vacationing.

The farmhouse, outside of Dunstable – Jason

The walk from town seemed longer than he remembered. He had asked Candace to come along for personal support as well for the practical matter of her being pregnant with his child. It was late afternoon when they arrived. The smell of a mutton stew wafted through the door.  Candace said cheerfully, “That smells good.”

Jason said, “Aunt always did cook well.  But I’m not sure whether we will be staying.”

Candace smiled, “I am.”

Jason took a deep breath and knocked on the door. After a bit, the door opened to show his Uncle Patrick. Patrick stared for a moment and the slowly wrapped Jason up in a big hug. Finally he said, “Oh lad. Wasn’t sure I was going to see you again.” The voice was hoarse.

Jason’s own eyes were clouded as he said, “wasn’t sure myself.”

His uncle pulled back and looked at him and said, “Stephan said you were gone for good.”

Jason shuffled a bit and said, “He was probably right when he told you. Things are a bit different now.”  Candace poked him from behind. He looked up and said, “You know Candace Miller.”

Patrick smiled and said, “Of course. You always get my order right.” He looked at her swelling and then frowned for a moment and looked at Jason. Jason smiled meekly and raised his palms upward. He said, “I didn’t know.”

His uncle said sharply, “I won’t have that. I explained things fine. My God boy. You lived on a farm.” He crossed his arms and then sighed and shook his head and said, “Never mind that. Where are my manners? Come on in. The both of you. Mary! We’ll need more settings.”

From the kitchen there was a shout, “Patrick, don’t you dare. The house isn’t clean.”

Jason smiled at the repartee. His uncle looked at Jason and winked and said, “Doesn’t matter.” Patrick smiled broadly and said, “Trust me…it doesn’t matter. He’s seen it worse.” Patrick opened the front door wider and waved the two in.

Candace said into his ear, “I was right.  We do get to eat.”

Jason hissed back, “Still not sure.”

Patrick disappeared into the kitchen and left the two alone in the sitting room. Jason looked around and shrugged a little. He gave a little tour to make conversation, “I would do my homework here…the light was better.  And in winter, Aunt Mary would stay here by the heater carding the wool…until we could find a factory to do it.”  He heard his Aunt complain in the kitchen, “I can’t leave the stove now. The stew’s bubbling and the biscuits will be done in just a minute.” Then he saw his uncle pulling her into the sitting room. When she saw Jason she stopped.  He face changed expression from annoyance to something else he couldn’t quite place. Her eyes softened for a moment and she bit her lower lip.  Then she turned quickly thumping Patrick on the chest soundly saying hoarsely, “Old fool. I need to finish dinner.” And then she scurried into the kitchen.

His uncle looked at Jason and shrugged. Jason asked quietly, “Are we staying?”

His uncle scratched his head and said, “She didn’t throw you out…I’ll set the table for four just to make sure.”

Let me know what you think

