The Omicron Matter – A Practice Voyage – Jumping Over the Moon 4


John Smith In front of his house. Created by Anita Tabaczkiewicz at http://hekatesatoshi.deviantart.com/

John Smith In front of his house. Created by Anita Tabaczkiewicz at http://hekatesatoshi.deviantart.com/

A new entry to the Omicron Matter – A Practice Voyage. When we last saw John Smith and Findley Brown, Smith was wrenching Brown off the bridge for failing to follow an order. Smith was making a point to everyone on the ship. Today we find out where Brown had been while the ship was getting into orbit and traveling to the Moon and we find out Smith’s methods of persuasion.

For those who are new to the Omicron Matter, the book home page is a good place to start

Author’s Note

Findley’s quick temper has gotten him into trouble and now he is really suffering. But Smith is really making a broader point to everyone about who is in charge. Winifred’s little subterfuge with the drone test could really be what is punished here.

A side note, I now am “advertising” on Facebook on a regular basis and it is resulting in more readers. I have enough backlog and stories to keep content up for a bit so those new readers can get involved. I am also starting to look for new images to go with my story and I need a better head shot to go with my page.

Thanks for your support, look for more on Wednesday

Camille’s Ship – Smith

Smith stopped outside the empty bay.  The room lacked furniture, facilities, or even light. He asked Camille, “What is the status of Mr. Brown?”

Camille answered smoothly, “As per your instructions, I removed any dampening effects from his nano technology. He has been in there for three hours during orbital insertion, free fall, the jump and the current high acceleration. He is shivering against the wall, nauseous, dehydrated and disoriented. “

Smith mused, “Miss Weiz said she had a certain sympathy for the rats. Mr. Brown would certainly have empathy if he had the capacity for such an emotion…He is otherwise healthy?”

Camille replied, “He is bruised from the orbital insertion and your discussions before, but no broken bones or serious internal damage. His nanotechnology is addressing that.  Be aware the room is a miasma of his various excretions and nausea.“

Smith smiled darkly, “As expected, Camille. He will be cleaning up after himself…probably for the first time. Open the door.”

There was a small sound as the doors slid apart. Findley Brown was naked and shivering in one corner. He blinked at the light.

Smith said harshly, “Mr. Brown, have I made myself clear on the matter of insubordination and the following of orders?”

Brown burped then coughed and said, “I’d have gone through the damn checklist.”

Smith turned around and raised a hand and said, “Apparently not. Camille, lock this door. Filter the waste that you can out of the atmosphere before we go to our next free fall. Can’t have the merchandise aspirating before I deliver it.” He turned to Brown and shrugged apologetically saying, “Damaged goods and all that. You understand.” He walked out and the doors started to close and Brown shouted out, “Wait…Wait, please…” Smith turned and faced Brown but said nothing.

Brown bowed his head and said, “I will be following your orders…sir.” Smith clasped his hands behind his back, but said nothing. Brown coughed again and said, “I was…hasty in my response. “

Smith leaned forward to the prostrate Brown and said, “You thought you knew better than me what to do. I tolerate your arrogance towards others, but I will never suffer it myself.  You will never be my superior in anything.  Am I clear, Mr. Brown?”

There was silence in the room.

Smith said harshly, “I asked you if I was clear.”

Brown gasped and said, “Very…Mr. Smith…I will never be your superior….Sir.”

Smith leaned back and closed his eyes and rubbed his forehead. Brown was showing more mettle than he expected. In other circumstances, he would have left Brown rot a day or two more.  But the ship was damnably short-handed with these new devices.  And he needed Brown to be competent in ship flight before he was handed over if he was to be of any value.  Smith put his hands behind his back and said, “Camille, I believe we are making some progress.  Have his nanotechnology help him in the freefall.” To Brown he said, “Clean up this room up first. Then clean yourself off and return to the bridge. You will observe and you will only do what I tell you to do.”

There was a sullen, “Yes, sir.”

Smith turned and left the room and said over his shoulder, “Cross me again, Findley Brown, and I will collar you irrespective of my promises to Morgaine. You will learn what obedience really means.  And I will sell your contract to a sadist that makes Winfred’s games look like tea parties.”

Let me know what you think

