The Omicron Matter – Animus Possidendi – The Walk Back cont


A new entry in the Omicron Matter – Animus Possidendi. Millicent and Liam are having a disagreement about the agreements that have been reached. Millicent is frustrated Liam stepped in. Liam is frustrated because he felt like he had to and and his frustrated because Millicent seems to be quibbling over very little when there are larger concerns on the horizon. Reading Wednesday’s post is recommended.

For those who are new to the Omicron Matter, the book home page is a good place to start.

Author’s note

This is the last entry in this chapter (A new one starts on Monday). Millicent and Liam continue their argument. Liam has picked a remarkable grasp of life off Earth and that might be pushing a boundary a bit, but I sympathized with him.  These tall people come around announcing coming doom and gloom. If I had chosen to believe them, I would be mighty frustrated if they started arguing over the porch furniture.

Look for the next chapter to start on Monday. I am about 3/4 of the way done with the chapter after that so I am keeping my backlog pretty well now.

Thanks for your support

The walk back

Liam stopped, crossed his arms and said, “How much better was your deal going to be?  You control 65% of these cursed devices. You will control most of the trade between the planet and the galaxy – which is going to pick up if I can tell what’s what.  We got Simone and Edward Wayland.  How many more meetings was it going to take to get something better?  While you and Smith are pissing away the time some great foreign armada is coming to establish order and justice on our heathen shores. Or did I miss the whole vast goal of the Guild?

Millicent fumed, “We were not pissing away the time.”

“Could have fooled me.  So are we going to be working with Smith?”

Millicent hissed, “Yes. That’s why we agreed to talk to you two.”

Liam marched on toward their hotel, “Ye ain’t any better than Smith or this damn Guild.  You just put a pretty bow on it.” He put a hand up in the air to the trailing Millicent, “Agreed?  Agreed!  Can you sound any more ladylike?  Maybe we locals are just a bit more worried about the coming changes than your bloody profits.”

“My interests in this planet are not trivial. And I do not appreciate you undermining my position.”

Liam looked at the sky and muttered, “oh for the love of Jesus…” He stopped and faced her and said, “Smith was going to end up with a slice of your ‘interests’ no matter what you hoped for. You were going to get Simone and Edward Wayland and you were going to keep control of those devices despite his delusions. You two were quibbling over details.” He turned around and continued walking saying, “It’s cold. Redman makes my skin crawl and I want to go back to London.” Millicent followed in silence for the last blocks. They arrived at the Pig in the Wall. Liam looked up at the door and stopped.

Millicent arrived behind him and said, “Mr. O’Hannigan”

Liam closed his eyes and shook his head, “Miss Morgaine, you’re like a dog with a bone. Is what you’re going to say going to change matters? Cause if it ain’t I can summarize for you.”

Millicent snapped, “Mr. O’Hannigan!”

Liam said tiredly, “I am going to summarize…You could have done better. I stepped on your toes. You’re terribly upset and disappointed. Fine, your highness. If there is nothing else, I’ll be heading in.”

Millicent said sharply, “Mr. O’Hannigan will you shut up long enough for me to say something you haven’t thought of?”

“Fine…Fine…Tell me something new.”

“Mr. O’Hannigan, I could have done better than that deal…”

“Aw Christ,” he waved his hands at her and started up the stairs

She shouted after him, “But not by much.”

Liam stopped his march up the stairs and looked at her. She continued, “I am rather put out that you didn’t at least consult with me before.”

Liam crossed his arms and only stared at her.

She said, “It put me at a disadvantage. It may have been the deal we ended up at, but Smith used you and I found that annoying.”

Liam narrowed his eyes and said, “Can’t disagree with how you saw it.  Might happen again…”

Millicent said, “Could you at least consult me before you start?”

Liam said, “I’ll try, but I dint’ have much chance this time. And you have to recognize there’s three at the table now.”

Millicent pursed her lips and said, “I encouraged Rachael. I hadn’t expected it to backfire the way it did this afternoon. But…the negotiations are done for now. Edward Wayland will be joining us tonight. He will be bringing all the collar controls – at least Smith says he will be. Smith will have Camille forward the list of the coalition so we can start checking it.” She paused and then said, “I would appreciate you reviewing the list with me and Charles.”

Liam closed his eyes, “That will make my work with Redman harder. Smith isn’t telling him about this coalition. No honor among thieves I guess. He doesn’t trust Redman. But Redman knows something is being hidden and he is going to want information.”

Millicent said, “I guessed as much when I was talking to Mr. Redman. But I need you to see that list. When we get to a trading station, I want you to know the players. You are going to get to test that ability of yours to find information.” Millicent moved up the stairs towards the door and turned, “Mr. Redman will figure a great deal out when we dock at the trading station. That is Smith’s problem.”

Liam said, “That’s what he said.”

They stood for a moment on the landing. Then Millicent asked, “Inside to toast the close of a new deal?”

Liam said, “You’re buying the first round. Smith got almost nothing.”

Millicent smiled and headed to the doors, “Yes, I suppose you’re right. It wasn’t such a bad deal after all.”

 

Let me know what you think

