The Omicron Matter – A Working Agreement – Finding an Agreement


The final entry in the Omicron Matter – A Working Agreement. The joint group has been meeting at The Duke of Wellington. They have reached an agreement that the Guild is the bigger enemy. As such, they know they need to work together. The question is how. Ideas are floated on how some level of joint effort might be possible. A set of liaisons are proposed. The pair make for rich irony.

For those who are new to the Omicron, the book home page is a good place to begin.

Author’s Note

I needed a way to get the groups together. I still think it is unlikely they will be able to work together closely. But there might a bit of remote cooperation. I am currently still writing the next chapter, so I am going to need to keep things going with other material.  My apologies for the delay.

I look forward to any comments.

Finding Agreement

Redman said, “Which brings us back to the point of this conversation. What do we want to do about these talks?”

Rachael said, “I think we can agree we need a place at the table.” Head nodded around the table. She continued, “We need to stop being told what is going to happen and be asked instead.” Murmurs of agreement followed.

Wayland said, “If we’re going to work together, there are some rules that need to be set up.” He gestured to his neck.

John said, “We’ve reached the same idea. Somebody or a group is going to have to mediate disputes. We already have certain parties who want nothing to do with yours. Any cooperation is going to have to be negotiated.”

Rachael added, “We need Smith and Millicent to agree on how new discoveries will be managed – who gets credit and how that is going to be decided and such.”

Wayland asked, “Isn’t that what got us into this mess?”

Rachael said, “We are about to sell our services to the highest bidder in the galaxy.  I don’t know about your contract, but I had to sign away patent rights.”

Wayland sighed and said, “If I had any, I’m sure they’ve been signed away…”

Redman said, “Not that I am feeling left out, but “support personnel will need some managing as well.”

Wayland looked at him narrowly and said, “Is that what you are calling it? ‘Support personnel?’”

Redman said sharply, “Got a better name, lad?”

John, interrupted saying, “That will make Liam’s and Felicity’s roles much easier. “  He looked around and then said, “What will we be saying to the Guild?”

There was quiet.

Then Redman said, “I’m not sure. Right now I think we need to get into talks with Morgaine and Smith. Who will be entering the lion’s den?”

John rubbed his chin and said, “I’ve been thinking about that. I think you and Liam O’Hannigan make the most sense. You are both ‘support personnel’ as you call it, so you don’t have the same financial constraints we engineers do.  You are both ‘street wise’ and both plain spoken, albeit with different accents.”

Redman said, “Interesting, Winifred and Brown  will be furious they aren’t chosen.” Edward snorted.

Rachael said, “I am not sure any on our side of the street believe they would hold our interests at heart.” She stared at him and said, “You …I’m still not sure…but I think the short term benefits of cooperation will outweigh any thoughts of avarice.”

Redman stared back at her and then smiled, “Cheers. I think there was a compliment in there somewhere.”

John looked at Edward and asked, “What are your thoughts? I don’t know O’Hannigan well enough to say one way or another. On this side of the street, I won’t work and Smith wouldn’t take me seriously if I did. I don’t trust Winifred or Findley either.  Neville?…He’s so desparte for the next ‘happy charge’ he would say anything to please Smith. That leaves Redman.” He looked warily at Redman who stared at him impassively.  “Can’t say I am comfortable with him either, but we aren’t exactly spoiled for choice with honest brokers here.” Redman rolled his eyes but said nothing.  Wayland laughed after a moment and said, “The fate of the world passed to the working class. Winifred and Findley will be furious.”

One thought on “The Omicron Matter – A Working Agreement – Finding an Agreement

  1. Pingback: The Omicron Matter – Animus Possidendi – Outside the Ship Leonard. | The Finder's Saga

Let me know what you think

