Reflections on Finishing a Book


I just finished putting up the last chapter of my story “The Recruiting Matter.” The last month has been fun as more people seem to be reading the story.  I started posting the story in May. Since then I have well over 1000 views,  106 followers, and over 200 likes.  As a novice, I find this very gratifying.

Observation 1: People like short bites of stories.

I had a very long chapter (even by my loquacious standards). Rather than post all 12,000 words at once, I decided to post a short section each day.  Readers have spoken clearly – they like that.  Of those 1000 views, easily 250 of those came in the last three weeks as I was posting shorter snippets. People read old entries and occasionally even read early chapters

Observation 2: People like daily posts

I suspect a second portion of my increased viewership was the daily posts.  I will be trying to keep this up, but my backlog is almost gone. I have three chapters edited for the next installment (title to be decided). Despite Observation 1, I have not yet figured out how to write a short story. It probably doesn’t help that my reading of choice tends to be 600 pages or longer. I have developed a side effort to help with daily posts. Felicity Rand will now post regularly from her journal. We are still working out how to work coauthorship in WordPress. Advice on this will be appreciated (recognition, character acknowledgment, a website review…we can work on details).

Observation 3: People were bored on Thanksgiving

I was fully expecting light readership those four days and I was knocked over with the amount of reading. Clearly football games and shopping were not holding peoples interest on those days. Since action picked up a bit and entries were very short, people kept checking back in.  (And once I had you hooked, you were mine! All mine! – picture villain rubbing his hands in glee as he make nefarious plans).

Observation 4: I don’t know how to solicit feedback

Despite all the readership, people did not feel compelled to comment.  I haven’t figured out the secret sauce on that yet. Maybe Felicity will have better luck. People read; some even clicked the Like button; a few clicked to earlier parts of my story. I am pretty sure that NO ONE commented on any of the entries around “Mission to Save Eleanor”. (I stand corrected – there were two comments – I will be responding later to those).  I will be looking at how to get more feedback in the future.

Thanks for the support.

Syd

2 thoughts on “Reflections on Finishing a Book

  1. Hey, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.

    When I look at your blog site in Firefox, it looks fine but
    when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, very good blog!

    Like

Let me know what you think

